Martin Hardy: Party Painter

A new artist has come to my attention. Martin Hardy is a man who paints party scenes, whether they are weddings, barmitzvahs, or baby showers. He has incredible energetic brushstrokes and color, and the talent of being able to paint a scene as everyone is in motion and no one stops and poses for him to paint.

Although I do rather love his party scenes because of how fun they are, I also found that he took images from the Mars land rover and turned them into abstract landscapes, often putting cherries into the landscapes.

Why cherries? Simply because that’s what he saw in the landscape when he was looking at the pictures, and then emphasized their forms when painting it. The colors that he uses turns the Mars landscape into a sea of ice cream sundaes with cherries on them, and the different textures and brushstrokes used create the notion of movement on an otherwise abandoned planet.

I could go on and on, but just look for yourself.

http://www.hardyboyart.com

OR go straight to the Cherries of Mars paintings:

http://hardyboyart.com/id12.html

He also has some great gestural figure paintings:

http://hardyboyart.com/id16.html

But the navigation bar at the top allows you to see his different portfolios.

How did I hear about Martin Hardy? He was painting the wedding reception that I went to in March! I talked to him for too long while everyone else received and ate their dinner. Oops. But now he is one of my favorites!

No comments yet

Leave a comment